Everly Brothers - Everly Brothers

Everly Brothers - Everly Brothers

Catalogue Code: 703332

Barcode: 5050457033323

Release Date: 16 Feb 2009

Don and Phil Everly were recommended to Archie Bleyer's Cadence label by Wesley Rose, who knew Bleyer was looking for some country acts for his label. Rose told Bleyer about the two brothers and recommnded them so highly that had Bleyer passed on them, Rose intended signing them to his own Hickory label. Bleyer journeyed out to Nashville to supervise their first recording sessions, with Bye Bye Love being part of that initial session. Written by Boudleaux and Felice Bryant, Bye Bye Love had already been turned down by more than 30 acts, including Elvis Presley, before the Everly Brothers agreed to record it. Released as a single in May 1957, it hit number two on the pop charts, number one country and even number five R&B! Further success came with Wake Up Little Susie (a #1 pop hit) and This Little Girl Of Mine (Top 30). The resulting debut album, entitled The Everly Brothers, hit the Top 20 when originally released, the most successful of their Cadence albums.

1. This Little Girl Of Mine
2. Maybe Tomorrow
3. Bye-Bye Love
4. Brand New Heartache
5. Keep A Knockin'
6. Be Bop A-Lula
7. Rip It Up
8. I Wonder If I Care
9. Wake Up Little Susie
10. Leave My Woman Alone
11. Should We Tell Him
12. Hey Doll Baby