Kay Starr - I Hear The Word

Kay Starr - I Hear The Word

Catalogue Code: 709332

Barcode: 5050457093327

Release Date: 14 Jun 2010

Kay Starr established a veritable reputation for herself as something of a jazz singer whilst recording for Capitol, who she joined in 1947. Kay signed with RCA in 1955, just as rock and roll was beginning to take hold on the charts, resulting in only two further chart hits with the label. Whilst Kay was never going to record rock and roll, she did use her brief sojourn at RCA as the opportunity to record other material, culminating in this religious album issued in 1959. This album offers Kay's interpretations on twelve spiritual songs of African American tradition.

1. Oh, What A Wonderful Feeling
2. Sometimes I Feel Like A Motherless Child
3. Jezebel
4. Down By The Riverside
5. I Shall Not Be Moved
6. Rock-A-My Soul
7. Tell Me How Long The Train's Been Gone
8. Go Down, Moses
9. Shadrack
10. Get On Board
11. Grace
12. Joshua