The Checkmates - Emile Ford Presents The Checkmates

The Checkmates - Emile Ford Presents The Checkmates

Catalogue Code: 711732

Barcode: 5050457117320

Release Date: 19 Mar 2012

Emile Ford had first broke into the charts in 1959 with an update of What Do You Want To Make Those Eyes At Me For, a number one hit. However, Emile was quick to give credit where it was due, highlighting his backing group The Checkmates, who comprised George Sweetman (bass), Dave Sweetman (saxophone), Ken Street (guitar), Les Hart (saxophone), Peter Carter (guitar), Alan Hawkshaw (piano) and John Cuffley (drums). In 1961 he brought them out front for their own album, an interesting mix of vocal and mainly instrumental tunes.

1. Night Train
2. Caravan
3. On The Sunny Side Of The Street
4. Autumn Leaves
5. Can't Wait
6. In The Mood
7. Chattanooga Choo Choo
8. Juicy
9. Blue Moon
10. Ram Bunk Shush
11. Yep
12. Honky Tonk