Art Blakey - A Night In Tunisia

Art Blakey - A Night In Tunisia

Catalogue Code: 712322

Barcode: 5050457123222

Release Date: 22 Oct 2012

Featuring the second incarnation of Art Blakely’s Jazz Messengers, A Night In Tunisia was recorded in two sessions in April 1957. This album would be the only time that alto saxophonist Jackie McLean and tenor saxophonist Johnny Griffin recorded together, shortly before Griffin would become a full time member of the Messengers in place of McLean. The album also features Bill Hardman (trumpet), Sam Dockery (piano) and Spanky DeBrest (bass), all powered by Art’s distinctive drumming.

1. A Night In Tunisia
2. Off The Wall
3. Theory Of Art
4. Couldn't It Be You?
5. Evans