Victor Silvester - Getting To Know You

Victor Silvester - Getting To Know You

Catalogue Code: 712502

Barcode: 5050457125028

Release Date: 19 Nov 2012

A legendary dancer, author, musician and bandleader, Victor Silvester is probably best known for his hugely successful series of dance albums, which would go on to sell more than 75 million copies around the world. It was as a dancer that he first made his name, but the realisation that there was insufficient records for dancing that led him to form his own band in 1935. By incorporating the exact beats per minute required for ballroom dancing, his strict tempo series proved irresistible and ultimately provoked much competition. Yet it is Victor Silvester who prevailed, with his son eventually taking over the running of the orchestra. This album features the unique Victor treatment to sixteen well known show tunes, so get ready to hit the dance floor...

1. Getting To Know You
2. Wish You Were Here
3. I Love Paris
4. Just In Time
5. This Nearly Was Mine
6. Out Of My Dreams
7. Young And Foolish
8. Hey There
9. Stranger In Paradise
10. The Heather On The Hill
11. Almost Like Being In Love
12. Love From Judy
13. Waltz Of My Heart
14. Someday My Heart Will Awake
15. We'll Gather Lilacs
16. It's A Lovely Day Today