Vera Lynn - We'll Meet Again - The Best Of The Forces' Sweetheart

Vera Lynn - We'll Meet Again - The Best Of The Forces' Sweetheart

Catalogue Code: 713932

Barcode: 5050457139322

Release Date: 22 Jul 2013

Her recording career spanned more than fifty years and included such highlights as topping the American pop chart (the first such British success on the other side of the Atlantic), yet for many Vera Lynn remains most closely associated with her recordings and performances during the Second World War. Songs such as The White Cliffs Of Dover and We’ll Meet Again came to epitomise the British spirit during the conflict, whilst Vera’s appearances in Egypt, India and Burma earned her the moniker of ‘The Forces’ Sweetheart’. Long after the war had ended, Vera retained her popularity among those who had seen action, devoting considerable amounts of her time to supporting charities for ex-servicemen. The twenty tracks on this collection are all reflective of that era and include all of the hits as well as the sing along songs that remain popular today.

9. It's A Lovely Day Tomorrow
11. Goodnight Children Everywhere
2. Up The Wooden Hill To Bedfordshire
3. Medley: Bless 'Em All / (We're Going To Hang Out) The Washing On The Siegfried Line / Kiss Me Goodnight, Sergeant-Major
4. Medley: This Is The Army, Mister Jones / I Left My Heart At The Stage Door Canteen / It's A Lovely Day Tomorrow
13. As Time Goes By
5. Medley: Who's Taking You Home Tonight? / Wishing (Will Make It So) / Wish Me Luck As You Wave Me Goodbye
6. A Nightingale Sang In Berkeley Square
7. When You Hear Big Ben
14. Auf Wiederseh'n Sweetheart
12. Harbour Lights
17. My Son My Son
15. Forget-Me-Not
10. I'll Be Seeing You
16. Homing Waltz
18. Travellin' Home
1. We'll Meet Again
19. Unforgettable
20. There'll Always Be An England
8. The White Cliffs Of Dover