Ahmad Jamal - Count 'Em 88

Ahmad Jamal - Count 'Em 88

Catalogue Code: 713952

Barcode: 5050457139520

Release Date: 22 Jul 2013

Ahmad’s first album with his new trio of Israel Crosby (bass) and Walter Perkins (drums), Count ‘Em 88 was originally released in 1956. Whilst he was popular in and around the Chicago area, his nationwide breakout wouldn’t occur for another year, but there are signs on this album that the template he would later use to so much effect was very much in place. There is great interplay between Ahmad, Israel and Walter, making this as vital a release as any of the subsequent albums and on par with anything that came before or after.

1. Volga Boatman
2. On Green Dolphin Street
3. How About You?
4. I Just Can't See For Looking
5. Spring Will Be A Little Late This Year
6. Beat Out One
7. Maryam
8. Easy To Remember
9. Jim Love Sue