Bobby Timmons - Soul Time

Bobby Timmons - Soul Time

Catalogue Code: 714112

Barcode: 5050457141127

Release Date: 16 Sep 2013

Although a largely forgotten figure in the world of jazz, Bobby Timmons’ brief career still saw him achieve a position of some considerable influence, with a slew of fellow pianists taking more than a passing interest in his abilities. He made his name with the likes of Kenny Dorham, Chet Baker, Sonny Stitt, Maynard Ferguson and Art Blakey before forming his own trio in 1960, with Soul Time the second release under his leadership. Joining him were Blue Mitchell on trumpet, Sam Jones on bass and Art Blakey on drums, with Bobby composing four the album’s seven tracks. Whilst aimed predominantly at the jazz market, Bobby injects the proceedings with almost a gospel feel, resulting in an album that has been highly regarded ever since its original release.

1. Soul Time
2. So Tired
3. The Touch Of Your Lips
4. S'posin'
5. Stella B
6. You Don't Know What Love Is
7. One Mo'