Clyde McPhatter - Lover Please

Clyde McPhatter - Lover Please

Catalogue Code: 714122

Barcode: 5050457141226

Release Date: 26 Aug 2013

A former lead singer with the Mount Lebanon Singers, Clyde McPhatter made his name as the lead tenor with Billy Ward & The Dominoes before striking out on his own in 1953. Part of the deal that earned in a contract with Atlantic was the provision to form a new group, with Clyde assembling The Drifters and enjoying considerable success prior to his being inducted into the army. After his discharge he launched a solo career, enjoying a string of hits with Atlantic before switching labels to MGM in 1959. The label change was not entirely successful and Clyde’s career dipped until he moved on again to Mercury in 1961, with the following year’s Lover Please a return to former glories. The title track made it into the Top Ten of the Hot 100 (at #7), whilst Little Bitty Pretty One also becoming a Top 30 hit. The resulting album also contains something of an update of Sixty Minute Man, which Clyde had originally recorded with The Dominoes in 1951.

1. Lover Please
2. Pretty Girls Everywhere
3. Money Honey
4. Don't Let Go
5. Rockin' Robin
6. Everybody Loves A Winner
7. Little Bitty Pretty One
8. Such A Night
9. Oh Lonesome Me
10. Next To Me
11. Sixty Minute Man
12. I'm Movin' On