Everly Brothers - Christmas With The Everly Brothers

Everly Brothers - Christmas With The Everly Brothers

Catalogue Code: 714152

Barcode: 5050457141523

Release Date: 26 Aug 2013

The late 1950s and early 1960s saw a slew of artists record Christmas albums, all hoping to extract some extra sales from the festive period. The Everly Brothers’ entry to the list takes a much more traditional approach to both the song selection and the performance; there are no pop Christmas songs, such as I Saw Momma Kissing Santa Claus or Santa Claus Is Coming To Home but rather a selection of hymns and sacred songs. They were joined by the 33 member Boys Town Choir from Omaha in Nebraska, who were given co-billing on the album, an honour they earned thanks to their two songs in Away In a Manger and Angels From The Realms Of Glory. Don Everly performs solo on What Child Is This, whilst Phil tackles O Little Town Of Bethlehem. Originally released in 1962, Christmas With The Everly Brothers is a much more solemn album than might have been expected but no less compelling. In amongst the usual Christmas mayhem, The Everly Brothers traditional approach is to be applauded.

2. Away In A Manger
3. The First Noel
4. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
5. What Child Is This
6. Silent Night Holy Night
7. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing
9. Deck The Halls With Boughs Of Holly
10. Bring A Torch, Jeannette, Isabella
12. We Wish You A Merry Christmas
1. Adeste Fideles (O Come All Ye Faithful)
8. Angels From The Realms Of Glory
11. O Little Town Of Bethlehem