Etta James - The Second Time Around

Etta James - The Second Time Around

Catalogue Code: 714522

Barcode: 5050457145224

Release Date: 14 Jul 2014

After the success of Etta James’ debut album At Last, Chess opted to follow exactly the same musical path for the follow up album The Second Time Around. It again features ten tracks, with orchestral backing to compliment Etta’s vocal, with the material drawn from a wide pool of sources, including standards and new material. The album would spawn major hit singles in Don’t Cry Baby (#6 R&B and #39 pop), The Fool That I Am (#14 R&B and #50 pop), Dream (#55 pop) and Seven Day Fool (#95 pop and co-written by Berry Gordy), although the album failed to make a showing on any chart. That is not to detract from what is another exceptional album from Etta, who had quickly established herself as a major R&B singer with pop crossover appeal.

1. Don't Cry Baby
2. Fool That I Am
3. One For My Baby (And One More For The Road)
4. In My Diary
5. Seven Day Fool
6. It's Too Soon To Know
7. Dream
8. I'll Dry My Tears
9. Plum Nuts
10. Don't Get Around Much Anymore