Bobby Timmons - This Here Is Bobby Timmons

Bobby Timmons - This Here Is Bobby Timmons

Catalogue Code: 714632

Barcode: 5050457146320

Release Date: 9 Jun 2014

A former member of Art Blakey’s Jazz Messengers (during two spells) and Cannonball Addersley’s quintet, Bobby Timmons launched his solo career in 1960, assembling his own trio with himself on keyboards, bassist Sam Jones and drummer Jimmy Cobb. His output was to be critically acclaimed if somewhat lacking in commercial success but is still required listening for those with even a passing interest in jazz. His keyboard style, with undercurrents of funk, would later be copied by the likes of Ramsey Lewis and Les McCann, whilst his songwriting abilities had already been revealed during his stints with Blakey and Adderley. This Here Is Bobby Timmons, his debut album for the Riverside label, was recorded whilst he was at the peak of his career and features This Here, Moanin’ and Dat Here, three Timmons originals that made some headway on the jazz listings.

1. This Here
2. Moanin'
3. Lush Life
4. The Party's Over
5. Prelude To A Kiss
6. Dat Dere
7. My Funny Valentine
8. Come Rain Or Come Shine
9. Joy Ride