Brook Benton - There Goes That Song Again

Brook Benton - There Goes That Song Again

Catalogue Code: 714912

Barcode: 5050457149123

Release Date: 15 Jun 2015

But for the persistence of record executive Clyde Otis, Brook Benton would have been happier staying in the background, earning a living as a writer and producer. It was a good living too, thanks to hits he wrote for Clyde McPhatter, Roy Hamilton and Nat King Cole. Brook had a couple more potential hits lined up for Nat King Cole, until Clyde Otis persuaded him to record them himself, also contacting Nat King Cole and informing him that the songs were no longer available. It proved to be a masterstroke, for It’s Just A Matter Of Time became a major hit for Brook and launched a hugely successful recording career. On There Goes That Song Again, Brook is partnered with Quincy Jones, with the material being a selection of standards, all given a unique Brook Benton feel. It’s not a jazz album by any stretch of the imagination, but there is a distinctive jazz feel, such is the way with Quincy’s arrangements.

1. When I Grow Too Old To Dream
2. There Goes That Song Again
3. All Of Me
4. I Love Paris
5. I Didn't Know What Time It Was
6. Trouble In Mind
7. Blues In The Night
8. I Don't Know Why (I Just Do)
9. Breezin' Along With The Breeze
10. After You've Gone
11. I'll Get By (As Long As I Have You)
12. Let Me Sing And I'm Happy