Charles Mingus - Oh Yeah

Charles Mingus - Oh Yeah

Catalogue Code: 714932

Barcode: 5050457149321

Release Date: 22 Sep 2014

Having recorded several albums for Columbia and Candid, jazz bassist Charles Mingus returned to Atlantic for Oh Yeah. Except he didn’t play bass on the album, instead preferring to concentrate on the piano and vocals (although he shouts, rather than sings)! The result is one of the wildest albums of his career, one that gives equal space to fellow maverick Roland Kirk (flute, siren and tenor saxophone) throughout. There is much on this album that would otherwise struggle to be considered jazz, but that was a large part of Mingus’ strength; his ability to push musical boundaries way beyond his contemporaries make this a compelling album to listen to. Throw into the mix such song titles as Oh Lord Don’t Let Them Drop That Atomic Bomb On Me, Wham Bam Thank You Ma’am and Eat That Chicken and it’s easy to see why this has been regarded a five star album.

1. Hog Callin' Blues
2. Devil Woman
3. Wham Bam Thank You Ma'am
4. Ecclusiastics
5. Oh Lord Don't Let Them Drop That Atomic Bomb on Me
6. Eat That Chicken
7. Passions Of A Man