Bill Evans Trio - Waltz For Debby

Bill Evans Trio - Waltz For Debby

Catalogue Code: 715072

Barcode: 5050457150723

Release Date: 18 Mar 2016

Featuring Bill Evans’ first trio (Bill on piano, Scott LaFaro on bass and Paul Motian on drums), Waltz For Debby was an album that hinted at future greatness for all three musicians. That the trio never quite achieved that level is entirely down to the tragic death of LaFaro in a car accident some ten days after the recording. There is much to enjoy here, however, from the original title song to the trio’s excellent interpretations of standards My Romance and Some Other Time and a take on Miles Davis’ Milestones. The overall style on this album is a unified group and as such is perhaps the best recording the trio ever made.

1. My Foolish Heart
2. Waltz For Debby
3. Detour Ahead
4. My Romance
5. Some Other Time
6. Milestones