Philly Joe Jones - Blues For Dracula

Philly Joe Jones - Blues For Dracula

Catalogue Code: 715202

Barcode: 5050457152024

Release Date: 9 Mar 2015

A former child tap dancer, Philly Joe Jones was destined to become something of a percussionist. As it was he became world renowned as the drummer of Miles Davis’ first great quintet, serving as the rhythm and time keeper of that great outfit between 1955 and 1958. He left for a solo career in 1958, recording his debut album Blues For Dracula for the Riverside label the same year. That debut album became a much sought after item thanks to the title track (written by Johnny Griffin) and the similarly themed cover, something of a unique concept for what was ostensibly a jazz album. Thereafter Philly Joe both led his own groups (he would record a further twelve albums up to 1982) as well as performing as a sideman for a wide variety of musicians including Bill Evans (alongside Miles Davis, Bill reckons Philly Joe to have been his favourite drummer) and Hank Mobley. For good measure, Philly Joe also spent two years teaching in London even though he was prevented from otherwise working in the country by the Musicians Union. By all accounts his lessons were extremely well received, high praise indeed for a man whose drumming talents came instinctively.

1. Blues For Dracula
2. Trick Street
3. Fiesta
4. Tune Up
5. Owl