Johnny 'Hammond' Smith - Talk That Talk

Johnny 'Hammond' Smith - Talk That Talk

Catalogue Code: 715612

Barcode: 5050457156121

Release Date: 18 Mar 2016

After recording an album for Arrow that was also released on Warwick, Johnny Hammond Smith moved to more familiar surroundings when he signed with Prestige Records in 1959. Here he had access to better supporting musicians, better studios and better production. That is certainly the case with Talk That Talk, an album that found him recording at Rudy Van Gelder’s famed set-up in Englewood Cliffs in New Jersey. It’s a small, tight unit that was assembled for this album, featuring Johnny on organ, George Ticker (bass), Art Taylor (drums) and Ray Baretto (percussion) and occasional appearances by Oliver Nelson (saxophone), Lem Winchester (vibes) and Eddie McFadden (guitar). Producer George Tucker ensures the end result is a low-key recording that is deeply soulful.

1. Talk That Talk
2. An Affair To Remember
3. The End Of A Love Affair
4. Minors Allowed
5. Rip Tide
6. Misty
7. Bennie's Diggin'
8. A Portrait Of Jennie