Stanley Turrentine - Look Out!

Stanley Turrentine - Look Out!

Catalogue Code: 715752

Barcode: 5050457157524

Release Date: 18 Mar 2016

Stanley Turrentine joined Blue Note in 1960, just as he was about to enter the most creative period of his career. Having learnt his craft whilst sitting in with the likes of Max Roach and Earl Bostic, this was one of his first recordings as a leader. As such he had yet to establish a distinctive style, but his work with his former paymasters had seen him considered something of a soul-jazz artist. Look Out is more of a traditional bop affair, which works particularly well on Journey Into Melody, a piece written by British conductor Robert Farnon. Elsewhere Stanley’s previous experiences recording with Ray Charles are put to excellent use, covering the whole album with a sprinkling of soul infused with the blues. It was an impressive debut album and remains so today.

1. Look Out
2. Journey Into Melody
3. Return Engagement
4. Little Sheri
5. Tiny Capers
6. Minor Chant