Sonny Boy Williamson - Down And Out Blues

Sonny Boy Williamson - Down And Out Blues

Catalogue Code: 716032

Barcode: 5050457160326

Release Date: 17 Jul 2015

Down And Out With The Blues is regarded as one of the greatest blues albums of all time as well as a landmark for artist Sonny Boy Williamson. Having commenced his Chess recording career in 1955, Sonny Boy (in fact the second artist to go under the moniker of Sonny Boy Williamson) released a succession of singles for the label, several of which were gathered together for the purpose of the album Down And Out With The Blues. Therefore there is no noticeable theme or thread running throughout the album, merely a collection of twelve tracks that had previously been available for purchase as singles. This, however, does not detract from the overall feel of this album; Sonny Boy had already established a reputation as a master story teller, and the final tracklisting choice showcased his abilities to perfection. Whilst the album was originally issued in the US in 1959, a British release wasn’t forthcoming until 1964, following a change in distribution rights to Pye Records. Despite the five year delay, Down And Out With The Blues still managed an appearance on the chart, proof of its enduring qualities.

1. Don't Start Me To Talkin'
2. I Don't Know
3. All My Love In Vain
4. The Key (To Your Door)
5. Keep It To Yourself
6. Dissatisfied
7. Fattening Frogs For Snakes
8. Wake Up Baby
9. Your Funeral And My Trial
10. 99
11. Cross My Heart
12. Let Me Explain