Wes Montgomery - So Much Guitar

Wes Montgomery - So Much Guitar

Catalogue Code: 716392

Barcode: 5050457163921

Release Date: 24 Jun 2016

One of the most talented and influential jazz guitarists of his and almost every other age, Wes Motngomery recorded a veritable slew of albums that are virtually compulsive listening. So Much Guitar, the sixth album of his career, is a case in point – the guitar solos are brief, melodic and to the point, the supporting cast beyond competent and the overall feel majestic. There is a certain spontaneity to So Much Guitar, in keeping with much of the rest of his Riverside work. Whilst his later recordings for Verve and A&M featured him in a large group ensemble, the small units he worked with at Riverside allowed for greater intimacy, with Wes trading musical blows with Ron Carter, Hank Jones and percussionists Lex Humphries and Ray Barretto. A memorable and well crafted album from start to finish, So Much Guitar features so much more.

1. Twisted Blues
2. Cotton Tail
3. I Wish I Knew
4. I'm Just A Lucky So-And-So
5. Repitition
6. Somethin' Like Bags
7. While We're Young
8. One For My Baby (And For The Road)