Etta James - Etta James

Etta James - Etta James

Catalogue Code: 716412

Barcode: 5050457164126

Release Date: 24 Jun 2016

Etta James enjoyed a career that stretched across seven decades but only received full recognition during the home run. Her cause wasn’t helped by a number of addictions, resulting in a ten year halt to her recording career, although Etta remained a popular live attraction. What was put down on record remains among the finest R&B recordings of all time. The 1962 album Etta James is a case in point; featuring tracks written by composers as diverse as Burt Bacharach, Berry Gordy and Willie Dixon as well as contributions from Etta herself, a couple of duets with former boyfriend and mentor Harvey Fuqua and no fewer than three Top 20 R&B hits (with two of these going on to make the Top Ten), the album is a delight from start to finish.

1. Waiting For Charlie To Come Home
2. Guess Again
3. A Lover's Mourn
4. You Can Count On Me
5. If I Can't Have You
6. Something's Got A Hold On Me
7. My Dear
8. Nobody But You
9. Let Me Know
10. Spoonful