Sonny Boy Williamson - Sonny Boy Williamson Volume 1

Sonny Boy Williamson - Sonny Boy Williamson Volume 1

Catalogue Code: 716592

Barcode: 5050457165925

Release Date: 30 Sep 2016

The first and dare we say the better of the two artists to use the Sonny Boy Williamson moniker, John Lee Williamson landed his first recording contract in 1937 at the age of 23 and over the next decade or so established himself as one of the leading blues artists. His initial recordings were in the country blues style, but over the next few years he relied more upon the use of the harmonica and became acknowledged as the father of the modern blue sharp. He recorded some 120 sides (all of which were singles, rather than albums) over that ten years or so, and a representative collection is presented on this compelling collection.

1. Good For Nothing Blues
2. Thinking My Blues Away
3. Life Time Blues
4. Miss Ida Lee
5. Springtime Blues
6. Coal And Iceman Blues
7. Drink On Little Girl
8. Mattie Mae Blues
9. Jivin' The Blues
10. I Been Dealing With The Devil
11. War Time Blues
12. Train Fare Blues
13. Decoration Day Blues No. 2
14. Early In The Morning No. 2
15. Welfare Store Blues
16. My Little Machine