Ahmad Jamal - At The Pershing Vol 2

Ahmad Jamal - At The Pershing Vol 2

Catalogue Code: 716962

Barcode: 5050457169626

Release Date: 23 Jun 2017

Ahmad Jamal’s Live At The Pershing album, also entitled But Not For Me, was a surprise best seller in 1958, shifting a reported million plus copies. Live albums had traditionally struggled to sell, but the eight tracks that made up the album appealed to his existing fan base and obviously spilled over to new. So successful was the original album, Ahmad was able to open up his own club and restaurant, thus ensuring steady live work in the years to follow. There was enough material recorded at the original dates at the Pershing to release a second album, this time featuring a further eleven numbers. The format and style is much the same as the predecessor, and whilst sales didn’t quite reach those of the first volume, there is still plenty to enjoy throughout.

1. Too Late Now
2. All The Things You Are
3. Cherokee
4. It Might As Well Be Spring
5. I'll Remember April
6. My Funny Valentine
7. Gone With The Wind
8. Billy Boy
9. It's You Or No One
10. They Can't Take That Away From Me
11. Poor Butterfly