Howard McGhee - Maggie's Back In Town!!

Howard McGhee - Maggie's Back In Town!!

Catalogue Code: 717182

Barcode: 5050457171827

Release Date: 13 Apr 2018

Alongside Dizzy Gillespie and Fats Navarro, Howard McGhee is considered one of the first bebop jazz trumpeters, as befits a musician who began his recording career in 1946 and worked extensively with Charlie Parker. He would later go on to influence a slew of trumpeters, most notably Fats Navarro. This particular album was originally released on Contemporary in 1961 and is widely regarded as one of his finest albums, especially given that bebop had almost fallen out of fashion by the time Maggie (as he was known) got round to recording it after a spell out of the limelight owing to drug problems. A compelling and vital album with excellent playing all round.

1. Demon Chase
2. Willow Weep For Me
3. Softly, As In A Morning Sunrise
4. Sunset Eyes
5. Maggie's Back In Town
6. Summertime
7. Brownie Speaks