Dinah Washington - Drinking Again

Dinah Washington - Drinking Again

Catalogue Code: 717252

Barcode: 5050457172527

Release Date: 13 Apr 2018

The leading light of the R&B world during the 1950s and early ‘60s, Dinah Washington switched labels from Mercury to Roulette at the start of the decade. It was, said many, a risky move, given that Mercury was a major label with access to the best of everything; writers, musicians, producers and, most importantly, distribution. Roulette by comparison had a sinister background, with some saying it was little more than a front for the Mafia! Yet the albums Dinah recorded for the label were considerable better than many expected, thanks in part to her professional performances throughout and her ability to draw the right people around her; Drinking Again is as much a success for arranger Don Costa as it is for Dinah. This was inteded to be Dinah’s torch album; it succeeded all the way.

1. Drinking Again
2. Just Friends
3. I'm Gonna Laugh You Right Out Of My Life
4. I'll Be Around
5. Lament (Love, I Found You Gone)
6. I Don't Know You Anymore
7. Baby Won't You Please Come Home
8. Lover Man (Oh, Where Can You Be?)
9. The Man That Got Away
10. For All We Know
11. Say It Isn't So
12. On The Street Of Regret