Leadbelly - Leadbelly Sings Folk Songs

Leadbelly - Leadbelly Sings Folk Songs

Catalogue Code: 717582

Barcode: 5050457175825

Release Date: 23 Nov 2018

Folk and blues musician Leadbelly was one of the most colourful characters in music, with his musical career being punctuated with several bouts in prison. The hardships of his life provided him with ample material for his songwriting, although he was also able to pen material about topical events, including Franklin D Roosevelt, Howard Hughes, Jean Harlow and even Adolf Hitler! There are no songs about any of those characters on this album, but the sixteen tracks on display provides the perfect introduction to one of the most distinctive blues musicians of his era.

1. There's A Man Going Around Taking Names
2. Stewball
3. Keep Your Hands Off Her
4. Good-Good-Good (Talking, Preaching)
5. We Shall Walk Thru The Valley
6. Lining Track
7. Outskirts Of Town
8. We Shall Be Free
9. The Blood Done Sign My Name (Ain't You Glad)
10. On A Monday
11. Jean Harlow
12. Corn Bread Rough
13. National Defense Blues
14. Little Children's Blues
15. Fiddler's Dram
16. Meeting At The Building