Gerry Mulligan - Spring Is Sprung

Gerry Mulligan - Spring Is Sprung

Catalogue Code: 717622

Barcode: 5050457176228

Release Date: 23 Nov 2018

The unique aspect to this particular album is the lack of a permanent pianist. While most, if not all jazz quartet’s relied upon the piano to help set the rhythm, on Spring Is Sprung both Gerry Mulligan and Bob Brookmeyer double up, Gerry playing saxophone and piano on some of the tracks and Bob trombone throughout and piano on others. The remaining two musicians are bass player Bill Crown and drummer Gus Johnson, with legendary producer Quincy Jones helming the project. The end result is one of the most pleasing of Gerry’s career and an album that has long been due a re-release.

1. Jive At Five
2. Four For Three
3. 17 Mile Drive
4. Subterranean Blues
5. Spring Is Sprung
6. Open Country