Ray Charles - Genius + Soul = Jazz

Ray Charles - Genius + Soul = Jazz

Catalogue Code: 711352

Barcode: 5050457113520

Release Date: 1 Jan 2012

Featuring the Count Basie band and arrangements by Quincy Jones and Ralph Burns, Genius + Soul = Jazz was another attempt by Ray Charles to close the gap between musical genres, in this case soul and jazz. As such it would turn out to be one of the most successful crossover albums of the early 1960s and even gave Ray a surprise hit with his cover of One Mint Julep. It would hit #4 on the Billboard pop charts and #10 on the jazz chart when reissued in 1988.

1. From The Heart
2. I've Got News For You
3. Moanin'
4. Let's Go
5. One Mint Julep
6. I'm Gonna Move To The Outskirts Of Town
7. Stompin' Room Only
8. Mister C
9. Strike Up The Band
10. Birth Of The Blues
11. Let The Good Times Roll