Raymond Scott - The Unexpected

Raymond Scott - The Unexpected

Catalogue Code: 716652

Barcode: 5050457166526

Release Date: 28 Oct 2016

If ever there was an album that was aptly titled then it is surely The Unexpected by Raymond Scott. On this particular album he is joined by the great and the good of the jazz world, including legendary harmonica player Toots Thielmans, but this is no ordinary jazz workout. A glance at the song list will give some idea of how far Raymond Scott is prepared to push the musical boundaries; And The Cow Jumped Over The Moon is indeed based on the children’s nursery rhyme. Raymond Scott’s work has come in for some serious appraisal over the last few years, with his reputation soaring as a result. This particular release has long been prized, even more so after the players were revealed, and Dorothy Collins speeded up vocals are a delight. Expect the unexpected throughout!

1. Waltz Of The Diddles
2. Temptation
3. And The Cow Jumped Over The Moon
4. A Message From Where
5. In The Beginning
6. Someone To Watch Over Me
7. March Of The Diddles
8. Night And Day
9. And The Dish Ran Away With The Spoon
10. Quiet Entrance
11. Jill
12. Over The Rainbow