Ahmad Jamal - At The Pershing - But Not For Me

Ahmad Jamal - At The Pershing - But Not For Me

Catalogue Code: 712312

Barcode: 5050457123123

Release Date: 22 Oct 2012

Having worked extensively in a piano, guitar and bass trio, pianist Ahmad Jamal changed the group’s dynamics in 1957 by switching the guitar to drums, linking with Israel Crosby (bass) and Vernel Fournier (drums). The house group for the Pershing Hotel in Chicago, the trio recorded this live album (also known as But Not For Me) in 1957 and following its release in January 1958 it would spend more than two years on the chart. The financial success of the album enabled Ahmad to buy and open his own restaurant and club in Chicago, whilst the critical success established Ahmad’s reputation for the following four decades.

1. But Not For Me
2. Surrey With The Fringe On Top
3. Moonlight In Vermont
4. (Put Another Nickel In) Music, Music, Music
5. No Greater Love
6. Poinciana
7. Wood 'N You
8. What's New?