Creed Taylor Orchestra - The Best Of The Barrack Ballads

Creed Taylor Orchestra - The Best Of The Barrack Ballads

Catalogue Code: 712332

Barcode: 5050457123321

Release Date: 24 Feb 2014

Creed Taylor’s reputation has been largely made as a record executive, having set up the Impulse label for ABC, run Verve Records for some six years and then set up his own CTI label, one of the greatest labels in jazz history. He began his career, however, wanting to be a producer, recording first for Bethlehem and then ABC Paramount, for whom The Best Of The Barrack Ballads was recorded in 1958. Featuring guest vocalist Lynn Roberts, the album is a sentimental journey through four decades of song and through two world wars. 'Each song in itself is entitled to a hero's decoration for the comfort it gave to those people separated by war...those who went away and those who waited.' 'These are the sad songs of yesterday presented in the optimistic and exciting mood of today.'

1. Jeannine (I Dream Of Lilac Time)
2. As Time Goes By
3. Johnny
4. Roses Of Picardy
5. Mam'selle
6. I'll Walk Alone
7. Diane
8. Sentimental Journey
9. You'd Be So Nice To Come To
10. I Don't Want To Walk Without You
11. Lili Marlene
12. I'll Be Seeing You