Clyde McPhatter - May I Sing For You

Clyde McPhatter - May I Sing For You

Catalogue Code: 714662

Barcode: 5050457146627

Release Date: 9 Jun 2014

The former lead singer with The Dominoes and founder of The Drifters, Clyde McPhatter launched a solo career in 1955 with Atlantic Records after his discharge from the army. Initially he was successful, becoming something of a regular fixture on both the pop and R&B chart, although by the end of the decade the hits were registering lower down the scale. A switch of labels to MGM and then Mercury followed, with this particular album being something of a mini compilation put together by Mercury from his first few releases for the label and issued stateside in 1962. The material is largely Clyde’s interpretations of standard repertoire, but such were his vocal abilitites, he could make even such fare as These Foolish Things sound like an R&B gem.

1. Harbor Lights
2. Put Your Arms Around Me Honey
3. You Belong To Me
4. Three Coins In The Fountain
5. That's My Desire
6. What Will I Tell My Heart
7. When Did You Leave Heaven
8. Answer Me My Love
9. These Foolish Things (Remind Me Of You)
10. Love Is A Many Splendored Thing