Albert King - The Big Blues

Albert King - The Big Blues

Catalogue Code: 715122

Barcode: 5050457151225

Release Date: 9 Dec 2016

One of the three great Kings of Blues Guitar (the other two comprising BB King and Freddy King), Albert King achieved his major breakthrough with his 1961 hit single Don’t Throw Your Love On Me So Strong, which hit #14 on the R&B chart. Originally recorded for the Bobbin label and leased to King, the success prompted King to license in sufficient material to create the album The Big Blues. Featuring Ike Turner on piano on two tracks, The Big Blues was supposed to herald the arrival of a major player in the blues market, but it was to take another five years, by which time Albert had signed for Stax, that he truly came to realise his potential. Thus this album represents something of a watershed moment for Albert King; on the cusp of greatness and ready to make the next leap forward.

1. Let's Have A Natural Ball
2. What Can I Do To Change Your Mind
3. I Get Evil
4. Had You Told It Like It Was (It Wouldn't Be Like It Is)
5. This Morning
6. I Walked All Night Long
7. Don't Throw Your Love On Me So Strong
8. Travelin' To California
9. I've Made Nights By Myself
10. This Funny Feeling
11. Ooh-Ee Baby
12. Dyna Flow