Dick Dale - Surfer's Choice

Dick Dale - Surfer's Choice

Catalogue Code: 715552

Barcode: 5050457155520

Release Date: 20 Jan 2014

The debut album by Dick Dale and his Del-Tones, Surfers Choice was originally released in 1962 by Deltone Records and was a minor chart success, peaking at #59 on the Billboard chart (with the single Let’s Go Trippin’ also making a fleeting appearance at #60). More impressively, however, it established surf music as a viable sub-genre within rock and roll, as well as establishing Dick Dale as the leading exponent. Much of the album is recorded live at the Rendezvous Ballroom in Balboa Beach, where Dick Dale had a virtual residency, with studio overdubs being added later to round out the sound. The live feel gives the album something of an extra feel to it and was largely responsible for bringing surfer music to a much wider audience.

1. Surf Beat
2. Sloop John B
3. Take It Off
4. Night Owl
5. Fanny Mae
6. Misirlou Twist
7. Peppermint Man
8. Surfing Drums
9. Shake N' Stomp
10. Love Dovey
11. Death Of A Gremmie
12. Let's Go Trippin'