Don Ellis - New Ideas

Don Ellis - New Ideas

Catalogue Code: 716792

Barcode: 5050457167929

Release Date: 21 Apr 2017

In the world of jazz Don Ellis was unique. His experimentation with unusual time signatures is well known, but that was just the tip of the iceberg in a career that saw him establish a Hindustani jazz sextet, mixed jazz with art to create a happening and utilised Arabian rhythms and scales and foot shuffling. New Ideas is therefore the ideal name for a Don Ellis album. It contains his experiments with time, new chord structures and free improvisations over the course of eight tracks, creating an album that was well ahead of its time. All of the tracks are original compositions, making this a compelling recording.

1. Natural H
2. Despair To Hope
3. Uh-Huh
4. Four And Three
5. Imitation
6. Solo
7. Cock And Bull
8. Tragedy