Donald Byrd - Byrd In Hand

Donald Byrd - Byrd In Hand

Catalogue Code: 717402

Barcode: 5050457174026

Release Date: 15 Sep 2018

Byrd In Hand finds master trumpeter Donald Byrd working with a sextet, along with Charlie Rouse (tenor saxophone), Pepper Adams (baritone saxophone), Walter Davis Jr (piano), Sam Jones (bass) and Art Taylor (drums), working their way through repertoire that feature three Byrd originals, two songs by Davis and the standard Witchcraft. While the original material didn’t catch on in the same fashion as many of his other compositions, then there is still plenty to enjoy and admire, not least the growing maturity Donald is able to display on these outings. Add to this the distinctive two horn work of Rouse and Adams and this is a hard bop album that stands out from the crowd.

1. Witchcraft
2. Here Am I
3. Devil Whip
4. Bronze Dance
5. Clarion Calls
6. The Injuns